E3 2017: Bethesda and Ubisoft

Who would have thought that Ubisoft would have the best e3 conference up till now? Bethesda, on the other hand, was pretty weak, as half of it was much milk they could squeeze out of Skyrim and VR shenanigans. Now there were a lot of great games shown off in both the Bethesda and Ubisoft conferences, but since they were smaller scale events, I’ve decided to combine them into one cohesive package! Here are some of my highlights from the Bethesda and Ubisoft e3 conferences.

Bethesda

Dishonored 2: Death of the Outsider

I’ve been meaning to get around and play Dishonored 2, I really have. The original was one of the best stealth games to come out of the last generation so anything related to Dishonored is going to peak my interest. Death of the Outsider is a standalone title and sequel to both Dishonored 2 and the story DLC from the first game. From the trailer, it’s great to see that it will most likely retain the dual-protagonist setup from 2. I have no excuse not to play Dishonored 2 now that it goes for so cheap online. Sometimes, all you need a little incentive to play a game, and Death of the Outsider is exactly what I needed.

The Evil Within 2

The original Evil Within game was the definition of meh. Directed by the father of Resident Evil, Shinji Mikami, The Evil Within had moments of brilliance survival horror action taken straight out of Resident Evil 4. But a mediocre story and difficulty lessened the experience tremendously. As someone who has beaten ever Souls game, I can tell you, this game isn’t hard. It’s incredibly cheap. It’s as if Tango Gameworks animated so many death animations and wouldn’t be satisfied until you’ve seen them all. Repeatedly. But there is still a chance for its sequel to learn from its mistakes and deliver a more balanced, horrific experience.

Wolfenstein 2: The New Colossus

I was never really much of a Wolfenstein fan. Maybe it’s because I first played Doom, so Wolfenstein 3D never hooked me like it did for a generation of gamers experiencing the FPS genre for the first time. So, I was pleasantly surprised at just how damn good Wolfenstein: The New Order was. It was a godsend to all the FPS buffs out there that was getting tired of the same old linear Call of Duty school of design. But what really surprised me more than anything was that for all the great gunplay and exploration, The New Order actually had a compelling story with fleshed out characters. I can’t wait to see BJ Blazkowicz serve some democracy to those Nazi bastards in America.


Ubisoft

Skull & Bones

I’ve been waiting for this announcement for a while. There had been rumors about Ubisoft considering making a pirate game since way back in 2013. It came as no surprise, given the critical acclaim of Assassin’s Creed 4: Black Flag, and I couldn’t be more ecstatic. As much as I loved the naval combat in Black Flag, so much of the game was weighed down to the Assassin’s Creed lore. Having a more focused vision of creating the essential pirate experience, Skull & Bones has the opportunity of becoming a staple of this generation, as Assassin’s Creed did before it.

Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle

Nintendo’s been involved in some interesting Mario crossovers over the years. From the board game inspired Dragon Quest Crossover Fortune Street, to Mario, Luigi, and Peach shooting some hoops in NBA Street V3. But never in my wildest imagine would I have imagined Mario would be featured in an x-com inspired Rabbids crossover. I was so quick to label the game as a pathetic cash grab, only for that to blow up in my face. As much as I dislike the atrocious little Rabbids, shooting their faces off as Luigi is something I need in my life.

South Park: The Fractured but Whole

Only a couple months now before The Fractured But Whole is released and I couldn’t be more excited! Stick of Truth is amongst the greatest license games to ever come out, perfectly capturing the humor and animation style of South Park. Given developer Obsidian’s reputation, and their close work with show creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, it was no surprise that Stick of Truth came out as good as it did. While I was sad to see Obsidian wouldn’t be developing The Fractured But Whole, everything showed off so far has been promising. As a huge fan of comics, it was great seeing x-men being parodied in the latest trailer, as Timmy telepathically tells Cartman how the franchise is failing and going nowhere. Can’t wait for my Towlie preorder content!

Beyond Good & Evil 2

I got a little teary-eyed watching the trailer. There have been so many years of silence, I was starting to believe we were approaching another Half-Life 3 situation. But here it is, after a 9-year wait, the brand-new trailer for Beyond Good & Evil 2. What a time to be alive. The original might have been a commercial failure, but its story, genre-blending gameplay, and art direction were some of the best its generation had to offer. It was an ambitious game that might not have succeeded in everything it did but made up for it in heart and soul. Was slightly disappointed that the trailer didn’t show off any gameplay, but I can’t imagine Ubisoft would reveal the game now if its release was still ways off. For now, Beyond Good and Evil 2 is my favorite e3 2017 reveal.

Edit: “We now really believe that we’re going to make this game” God damn it.

Leave a Reply

