Xel’s Seasonal Anime Wrapup – Spring 2017 (Part 1)

I haven’t been this critical about an anime season in a long, long time. Generally, I have always given out 7’s across the board, but there was no way that was happening this time. I’m afraid I’m starting to grow into the elitist mentality I’ve always hated. Ever since getting into seasonal anime back in 2014, I have watched dozens of new anime every season. Maybe I’m just not as easily impressed as I use to be.

If you’re wondering where Boku no Hero Academia is, I can assure you I am watching it, and it is fabulous. But I don’t rate shows before I finish them, even when they are obviously a 9/10. This should also explain why Little Witch Academia is on this list, as it ended this season and I was able to give it my final rating. I hope you enjoy this list, and if you have any recommendations for shows I yet to see, please leave a comment below!

Anime of the Season: Attack on Titan Season 2 (9/10)

Well worth the wait. I wasn’t expecting to be caught up in the hype of the second season, having read the manga. But lo and behold, after watching the first episode, I knew Attack on Titan was back baby! Everything has been ramped up to 11; The action is gorgeously framed and animated, the gore is better utilized to show the terror of fighting these beasts, and the pacing keeps you on the edge of your seat.

The first season was an incredible looking show, but Wit Studio went above and beyond to make the second season one of the most beautifully animated TV series I’ve ever seen. It’s consistently jaw-dropping, with every encounter more riveting than the last. The show hits you with a barrage of twists and cliffhangers, but even knowing what was going to happen, I was still blown away by the raw emotion on display. The Seiyuu deserves all the praise they can get. Kaji Yuki really showed his acting chops with Eren’s emotion outbursts throughout this season.

The manga just doesn’t do the material justice. I don’t say this often, but the anime is superior in almost every way. I can’t wait to see how people react to the coming story arc.

Little Witch Academia (8/10)

All of my readers should know I’m a huge TRIGGER fanboy. As far as I’m concerned, they can do no wrong. So, when they first announced they were going to make a TV adaptation of Little Witch Academia, I squealed like a little girl. Little Witch Academy might not have the most groundbreaking story or the deepest of characters. But what it lacks in, it makes up for it in heart. Akko’s journey to become a great witch like her idol Shiny Chariot is a joy to watch and you want to see it through to the end. The rest of the cast is just as likable and fun to watch, especially my girls Suzy and Ursula.

God, I love the animation. You just don’t see this kind of bouncy and lively animation in other series. Each character is distinct and easily recognizable, and you can tell a lot about their personality by just looking at them. The designs might be simple, but they lend themselves so well to the fluidity of the animation.

The biggest knock against the series is that the majority of the cast are demoted to background characters as the show approaches its climax. Had the rest of the cast were given just a little more to do, LWA could have easily been a 9.

Tsuki ga Kirei (8/10)

One of the best romance anime I’ve watched in recent years. Tsuki ga Kirei knows exactly what it wants to do and aptly executes it. There is a reason I tend not to watch a lot of romance, as it always focuses on the oblivious lead playing with his dick, instead of making meaningful progress in their quest for love. Tsuki ga Kirei should be highly praised then for how much it respects your time.

Kotarou may come off as a mild-mannered and timid kid, but boy does he get what he wants. Even with met with uncomfortable situations, he breaks out of his comfort zone for to pursue what is most important to him. He doesn’t let love slip him by, taking every chance to further his relationship with Akane, and I respect that. One of the few shows this season to not lose its shit by the end. A high recommendation by your buddy Xel.

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka? (7/10)

It’s incredibly frustrating when you go into an anime knowing its sole reason for existing is to try and make you cry. I’m ambivalent to call these kinds of series true tragedies, as their cheap emotional manipulation worsens the experience. SukaSuka is just another in a long line of anime that isn’t satisfied until it breaks you down into a sobbing mess. But my iron-heart has gone through this too many times to waver so easily!

There was much to like about SukaSuka, as there was a lot of interesting world-building throughout this post-apocalyptic story. Willem and Chtholly relationship was cute, and the way he supported her as she held on to her humanity was touching. But their relationship was still far too underdeveloped to give the ending the weight it needed to justify the show’s existence. A few more episodes to spread out the melodrama could have gone a long way.

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3

Leave a Reply

